LTC honors students, community leaders at awards banquet



Alumnus Photo
Alumnus — Randy Roethel, owner and financial consultant with Principal Financial Group, speaks after receiving the Alumnus of the Year award at Lakeshore Technical College’s 2013 awards banquet.


CLEVELAND —Lakeshore Technical College recognized 57 students for their achievements in and out of the classroom on May 3 during the college’s 42nd Annual Awards Banquet. Highlighting the evening was the announcement of the LTC 2013 Alumnus of the Year and 2013 Educational Leadership award winners.

Randy Roethel, owner and financial consultant with Principal Financial Group, was named Alumnus of the Year. This award is given annually to a Lakeshore Technical College graduate who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in his or her career or profession, provided service to the community, and demonstrated loyalty to the college.

A 1981 graduate of LTC’s Materials Management program, Roethel has been self-employed since 1982, celebrating his 30th year in business in October of 2012. He specializes in investments, tax planning and retirement issues. Randy holds his Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU) and Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) designations. Randy has been recognized with numerous awards over his years in the industry, most notably being inducted into the Principal Hall of Fame in 2004. He also received the Lifetime Achievement Award from Princor Financial Services Corporation in 2008.

Roethel credits his LTC education for his success and has demonstrated his belief in LTC through funding a scholarship through the LTC Foundation. The Randall J Roethel LTC scholarship is available to Oostburg High School Seniors interested in Machine Tool, Welding, Electro-Mechanical, Industrial Maintenance or Supply Chain programs at LTC. Randy serves his community as a longtime member of the Oostburg and Sheboygan Jaycees and is also a member of the Sheboygan Rotary Club.

Receiving the college’s Educational Leadership award was Dr. Suzanne Martens, Faculty, EMS & Trauma Program Medical Director at St. Nicholas Hospital in Sheboygan. The award is presented annually to an individual who exhibits outstanding service above self in building an educational foundation to help others become their personal best.

Martens has been a champion of education for LTC and the region, providing technical guidance and expertise by serving as the EMS Program’s medical advisor, adjunct instructor and advisory committee member here at LTC. She has long been involved in education, teaching at colleges since 1996. Martens plays an instrumental role in ensuring the success of LTC students and the future workforce trained through LTC’s EMS Program.

Dr. Martens has made a significant commitment to Emergency Medical Services at both the state and local level. She attends a large number of County EMS Association meetings and works to better serve those organizations with her vast knowledge and experience. She also serves as the physician medical director or co director for 19 local ambulance services, first responder units, or fire departments. Dr. Martens tirelessly gives her time to help improve the capabilities of these organizations to better serve the citizens of Sheboygan County.

Student awards were also presented at the banquet and recognized program excellence and club involvement. Winners are listed below by their Wisconsin hometown.

Thomas Strahl, Automotive Maintenance Technician program

Christine Ranke, Accounting program

Anthony Kelm, Nuclear Technology Club; Trenton Genke, Student Government Association Leadership; Dianne Philipsen, Dairy Herd Management program

Elkhart Lake
Hayleigh Buechel, LTC SHRM Student Chapter

Alan Michaels, Electro-Mechanical Technology Program, All-USA Community College Academic Team and 2013 Coca Cola Bronze Scholar; Brian Schuknecht, Supervisory Management program

Howards Grove
Jayson Carmody, Mechanical Design Technology program; Steven Faust, Nuclear Technology program; Kyle Froh, Sustainable Landscape Horticulture program; Alyssa Young, WTCS State Ambassador

Shane Mattner, Student Government Association Leadership

Rebecca Hinds, Medical Assistant Club; Jamie Lee, Human Resource Administration program; Michael Nelson, All-USA Community College Academic Team; Christina Sanders, Human Resource Administration program and Phi Kappa Theta Honor Society; Justin Tharaldson, Mechanical Design Club and Student Impact Club

Sally Willoughby, Nursing-Associate Degree program

Stacy Hein, Accounting program; Florence Kempf, Auto Collision Repair & Refinish program; Eileen Kerwin, Administrative Professional program; Josephine Van Ess, Student Government Leadership; Suzy Yang, Ophthalmic Medical Assistant program

Random Lake
Brian Lawrenz, Industrial Maintenance program

Brian Ludjack, Wind Energy Technology program

Saint Nazianz
Theodore Wagner, Nuclear Technology program

Matthew Antes, WTCS State Ambassador; Amy Binsfeld, Paralegal program; Julie Bruinooge, Medical Administrative Specialist and Transcriptionist program; George Claypool, Mechanical Design Technology program; David Cook, Graphic and Web Design program; Sara Dolezal, Business Management program; Steven Ellinger, IT-Web and Software Developer program; Nicole Gaus, Hospitality Club; Daniel Graves, Supply Chain Management program; Starr Gerk, MAST Club; Shane Jackett, Information Technology (IT) Club; Cameron Kress, IT-Web and Software Developer program; Jason Kunde, IT-Computer Support Specialist program; Andrés Mendoza, Marketing program; Aaron Meyers, Auto Collision Club; TinaMarie Olig, Lakeshore Chapter of the Student Nurses Association (LCSNA); Ryan Rabe, Business Management program; Matthew Resop, Nursing-Associate Degree program; Kenneth Schultz, Horticulture Club; Julie Thomas, Jack Keating Student Civic Leadership Award; Jenny Wensink, Medical Assistant Program

Sheboygan Falls
Tyler Fischer, Criminal Justice Student Association; Keena Gregoire, Supply Chain Management Club; Daniel Leitzke, IT-Network Specialist program

Two Rivers
Susan Gilbert, Hotel and Hospitality Management program; Amy Katzka, Medical Administrative Specialist and Transcriptionist program; Rowland Laurin, Auto Collision Repair and Refinish program; Tad Rauber, Quality Assurance Technician program

Nathan Barnes, Criminal Justice-Law Enforcement program

About Lakeshore Technical College

Lakeshore Technical College is a leading provider of technical education offering more than 120 career programs including associate degrees, technical diplomas, technical certificates and apprenticeship programs. In addition, LTC offers distance learning, customized training to business and industry, and continuing education opportunities.

Serving a 200,500-resident population in east central Wisconsin, LTC operates a main campus in Cleveland and additional learning sites at LTC Manitowoc, LTC Sheboygan, LTC-Plymouth Science & Technology Center, and the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. The college also operates Community Education Centers at area high schools in Elkhart Lake, Cedar Grove-Belgium, Howards Grove, Kiel, Mishicot, Oostburg, Plymouth, Random Lake, Reedsville, and Two Rivers; and 27 distance learning sites. LTC's mission is to enrich lives and strengthen the economy by preparing a workforce that is skilled, diverse and flexible. On average, 87% of LTC graduates work in the LTC District which includes Manitowoc and Sheboygan Counties, and parts of Calumet and Ozaukee Counties. Visit LTC at:

WTCS New North