PTK honor society names new officers at Lakeshore Technical College



Six LTC students were recently named officers in the Beta Lambda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. First Row, L to R, Wendi Schmid, Jen Chynoweth. Second Row: Josephine Van Ess, Faye Gabrielse, Becky Dvorachek, Brighton Hollis.


CLEVELAND- Recently, officers for Beta Lambda Sigma chapter of Lakeshore Technical College's Phi Kappa Theta Honor Society were given their oath of office. The students will serve as officers during the 2013-2014 school year.

Phi Kappa Theta is recognized as the official honor society for community colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. Membership is based on superior academic achievement. Phi Kappa Theta recognizes and rewards high-achieving students and provides opportunities to develop skills such as problem solving, project planning, team building, effective communication and conflict resolution.

New officers include: Brighton Hollis, President; Becky Dvorachek, Vice President; Jen Chynoweth, Secretary; Faye Gabrielse, Promotions/Advertising Officer; Wendi Schmid, Fundraising Officer and Josephine Van Ess, Recruitment Officer.

PTK Advisors are Sue Kinneston, LTC Testing Services Manager and Mary Kultgen, LTC Instructor.

About Lakeshore Technical College

Each year more than 11,000 people enroll in courses at Lakeshore Technical College. They rely on LTC for job preparation, to earn a degree, upgrade a specialized skill, train as an apprentice, or seek a high school equivalency. LTC faculty and staff meet students where they are in life and help them get one step closer to achieving their goals.

Close to 1,000 students graduate from LTC each year, and LTC’s associate degree graduates earn a median salary of $46,800 per year. In addition to the Cleveland campus, LTC serves students in Manitowoc and Sheboygan, and offers classes at four additional sites throughout the district. Visit LTC at:

WTCS New North