LTC honors Record-Number of Graduates at Sheboygan County Youth Apprenticeship Ceremony



Amerequip President and CEO Mike Vander Zanden, addresses youth apprenticeship graduates at Lakeshore Technical College.


CLEVELAND — The growing partnership between Amerequip Corporation and the Sheboygan County Youth Apprenticeship Program highlighted the Sheboygan County YA graduation ceremony held at Lakeshore Technical College on May 29. The event drew nearly 125 people.

Amerequip President and CEO Mike Vander Zanden delivered remarks to the high school junior and senior students who seized the unique opportunity to work side by side with engineers, nursing staffs, welders, banking personnel, chefs, CNC operators and many other professionals and benefit from their knowledge and skills.

"We are so grateful for the Youth Apprenticeship program and will increase our commitment to the program next year," said Vander Zanden. "The program exposes students to many different skills and equips them with knowledge when they enter the workforce."

Amerequip completed their first year in partnership with Youth Apprenticeship by employing 3 students. They work with these student employees as mentors and co-workers for up to two years to fully understand the position as well as the company’s culture. Most students, upon completing high school, will continue their education but many will continue working for these employers as their education allows. Some are offered adult apprenticeships after completing high school because of the Youth Apprenticeship experience.

Amerequip is currently interviewing local students who have applied for the Youth Apprenticeship Program for a total of 5 positions in their company for the upcoming 2013-14 school year.

The Sheboygan YA program has grown rapidly in the past few years, from 11 students in 2010-11 to the current 32 students. The program will swell to 65 students in the 2013-14 school year. Area businesses are acknowledging the need to recruit future employees to occupations that will be in demand in the near future. The commitment from local high schools, LTC and area businesses will ensure that opportunities are available to students in the career fields which are most sought after by industries in the Sheboygan area.

"Many students have solidified their choice of occupation based upon their full one or two year experience and with the help of their mentor as well as the relevant classwork," says Sheboygan YA Coordinator Jill Preissner. "It’s this combination of work and extra career related education that makes the Youth Apprenticeship Program a unique experience for many students in the Sheboygan Area."

Other speakers who participated in the event included LTC President Dr. Michael Lanser, John Lukas, LTC Board Member and VP of LDI Industries in Manitowoc, Caitlin Carew, Health YA student, and Brendan Burhop, Manufacturing YA student.

The names of Youth Apprentice graduates, their high schools, companies and mentors appear below:


Elkhart Lake High School
Tyler Jones, Adam Klotzbach
Kiel High School
Mattece Charlton
Plymouth High School
Preston Beyer
Sheboygan Falls High School
Shawn Grothe, Caleb Richter
Sheboygan Lutheran High School
Haley Clark
Sheboygan South High School
Dalton Burke

Culinary/Hospitality Mentors

Nicole Kleinke, The American Club
Chad Kornetzke, The Osthoff
Sean Pieters, The Sheboygan Yacht Club
Paul Smitala, Blackwolf Run
Mark Tennie, Riverbend

Engineering Drafting

Elkhart Lake High School
Jonathan Starnitcky
Plymouth High School
Peyton Holzmann
Sheboygan Falls High School
Nick Schefsky, Cameron West

Engineering Drafting Mentors

Peter Dobbeck, Kohler Company
Ian Marquardt, Kohler Company
David Ourada, Kohler Company
Mark Schuessler, Vollrath Company


Sheboygan South High School
WeiLing Huang

Finance Mentor

Nou Lee, UnitedOne Credit Union


Elkhart Lake High School
Caitlin Carew
Sheboygan Lutheran High School
Taylor Bufton, Georgi Miller

Health Mentors

Stacy Kaltenbrun, Progressive Health Care
Jane Martin, Aurora Sheboygan Memorial Medical Center
Heather Susen, Sunny Ridge


Elkhart Lake High School
Devin Pfeifer
Howards Grove High School
Brendan Burhop, Ethan Schelk, Sean Daehn
Kiel High School
Nathan Pieper
Oostburg High School
John Bieszk
Plymouth High School
Andrew Meyer
Sheboygan North High School
Austin Hanson

Manufacturing Mentors

Louie Bowe, Kohler Company
John Capelle, Nemak
Jeff Ernst, Alaark
Joe Guth, Nemak
Scott Reynolds, Nemschoff
John Schmitt, HG Weber
Tom Thiel, Amerequip

About Lakeshore Technical College

Lakeshore Technical College is a leading provider of technical education offering more than 120 career programs including associate degrees, technical diplomas, technical certificates and apprenticeship programs. In addition, LTC offers distance learning, customized training to business and industry, and continuing education opportunities.

Serving a 200,500-resident population in east central Wisconsin, LTC operates a main campus in Cleveland and additional learning sites at LTC Manitowoc, LTC Sheboygan, LTC-Plymouth Science & Technology Center, and the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. The college also operates Community Education Centers at area high schools in Elkhart Lake, Cedar Grove-Belgium, Howards Grove, Kiel, Mishicot, Oostburg, Plymouth, Random Lake, Reedsville, and Two Rivers; and 27 distance learning sites. LTC's mission is to enrich lives and strengthen the economy by preparing a workforce that is skilled, diverse and flexible. On average, 87% of LTC graduates work in the LTC District which includes Manitowoc and Sheboygan Counties, and parts of Calumet and Ozaukee Counties. Visit LTC at:

WTCS New North