PTK honor society welcomes new members at Lakeshore Technical College



PTK Honor image
38 LTC students were inducted into the Beta Lamda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society on October 17. First Row, L to R, Julie Rocque, Jerilyn Skubal, Karen Williams, Grace Janke, Jessica Beltran. Second Row: Tamra Koehler, Jeff Conjurski, Noel Tenpas, Pa Voua Vang, Jenny Bubolz, Alyssa Ker, Dana Lopez. Third row: Jessica Bumbard, Ryan Geisler, King Lee, Amy Western, Jacob Wiegand, Ryan Kraemer, Patricia Verhaege, Donna Page, Jessica Mohnsam.

CLEVELAND, WI – Thirty-eight students from Lakeshore Technical College were inducted into the Beta Lamda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society on October 17 at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute.  A reception for the new inductees followed the ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa has become one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. PTK is the only honor society that serves two-year colleges offering associate degree programs. Membership is based primarily on academic excellence and is extended by invitation only.

A formal welcome was given by Dr. Michael Lanser, LTC President and the keynote speaker for the evening of celebration was Brighton Hollis, PTK Chapter President for LTC. Students were welcomed to membership by all PTK officers.

New PTK members are listed by their Wisconsin hometown unless otherwise noted and include:

Elkhart Lake
Ryan Kraemer, Ryan Meyer

Tamra Koehler

Donna Page
Michelle Fritz

Elizabeth Bowen, Jeffery Conjurski, Jesse Fischer, Rachel Graff, Grace Janke, Joseph Liermann, Dana Lopez, Megan Muench, Megan Sieracki

Afton Bruckschen

Carol Focht, Alyssa Kerr, Patricia Trekas

Jenny Bubolz

Saint Nazianz
Heather Graff

Jessica Beltran, Jessica Bumbard, Elizabeth Diel, Ryan Geisler, King Lee, Jessica Mohnsam, Sally Olson, Noel Tenpas, Pa Voua Vang, Patricia Verhaeghe, Amy Western, Jacob Wiegand

Sheboygan Falls
Karen Williams

Two Rivers
Roberta Marcelle, Julie Rocque, Jerilyn Skubal

Jacob Bonde

West Bend
Mariana Tetzlaff

“Membership in PTK offers opportunities that go well beyond a student’s time in college,” said Sue Kinneston, PTK Advisor and LTC Testing Services Manager.  “In addition to scholarships and special recognition at graduation time, PTK members can gain valuable leadership skills by being active in the chapter to enhance their resume.”

PTK Advisors are Sue Kinneston, LTC Testing Services Manager and Mary Kultgen, LTC Instructor.

About Lakeshore Technical College

Each year more than 10,000 people enroll in courses at Lakeshore Technical College. They rely on LTC for job preparation, to earn a degree, upgrade a specialized skill, train as an apprentice, or seek a high school equivalency. LTC faculty and staff meet students where they are in life and help them get one step closer to achieving their goals.

LTC is a nationally recognized technical college. The college was ranked the #2 two-year college in the nation for adult learners by Washington Monthly, the #17 trade school in the nation by Forbes, #11 in the nation for two-year college educational outcomes by, a top-150 two-year college for the fifth consecutive time by the Aspen Institute, and a top 10 Bellwether Award finalist.

Approximately 800 students graduate from LTC each year, and LTC’s associate degree graduates earn a median salary of $47,800* per year. In addition to the Cleveland campus, LTC serves students in Manitowoc and Sheboygan, and offers classes at additional sites throughout the district. Visit LTC at

*Source: 2019 LTC Graduate Outcomes report, 795 graduates contacted to complete the survey; 508 graduates or 64% completed the survey.

WTCS New North