PTK honor society welcomes new members at Lakeshore Technical College



Forty seven LTC students were inducted into the Beta Lamda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society on November 6 at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. Nineteen inductees were in attendance for the ceremony. Pictured first row, Left to Right: Amanda Boor, Amber Clark, Amanda Fernandez, Amanda Adelman, Tina Castilo, Debbie Dirks, Linda Pentke, Sheri McGee and Samantha Kluck. Second Row, left to right: Sara DesArmo, Janet Blohowiak, Ricky Gensch, Jason Gunderson, Jason Schema, Heather Colbath, Maxine Becker, Jacquelyn Cogswell, Jason Herzog, Dawn Higgins and Maria Joose.


Forty seven students from Lakeshore Technical College were inducted into the Beta Lamda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society on November 6 at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. A reception for the new inductees was held prior to the ceremony. Nineteen inductees were in attendance for the ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa has become one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. PTK is the only honor society that serves two-year colleges offering associate degree programs. Membership is based primarily on academic excellence and is extended by invitation only.

A formal welcome was given by Dr. Michael Lanser, LTC President and the keynote speaker for the evening of celebration was Dr. Cindy Ellenbecker, Written Communications and Sociology Instructor at LTC. The PTK officers presiding over the ceremony were Heather Wiederhold, VP of Leadership; Matt Carpenter, VP of Fundraising; Sam Ruppel, VP of Membership; Shanna Ruppel, VP of Scholarship and Lisa Seefeldt, President.

New PTK members are listed by their Wisconsin hometown unless otherwise noted and include:

Samantha Kluck

Fond du Lac
Jeffrey Blau

Maxine Becker and Jason Schema

Sara DesArmo

Amanda Adelmann, Alec Dose, Dennis Franz, Jason Gunderson, and Adam Pabian

Seneca Avina

New Holstein
Jennifer Hofschild

Sydney Schmitz and Jennifer Schneider

Maria Joosse, Dmytro Glazunov

Amber Clark

Benjamin Propson and John Puls

Amanda Boor, Tina Castillo, Heather Colbath, Debbie Dirks, Jennifer Duening, Christopher Fenner, Amanda Fernandez, Jalesa Freese, Ricky Gensch, Dawn Higgins, Sheri McGee, Sarah Montanez, Linda Moua, Anna Pittner, Terri Saxe, and Stacy Tharaldson

Sheboygan Falls
Linsay Watkins

Two Rivers
Janet Blohowiak, Jacquelyn Cogswell, Stephanie Leonhard, Crystal Nienow, Christina Onderbeke, Linda Penke, Judy Reed and Angela Williams

Jason Herzog

Anna DeGroff and Mary Eresh

“Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is to recognize and encourage scholarship at the two year colleges and provide an opportunity for leadership, intellectual exchange of ideas and ideals, lively fellowship and stimulation for continuing academic excellence,” said Dr. Cindy Ellenbecker. “To that end, Phi Theta Kappa is all about achieving greatness.”

Phi Theta Kappa’s theme this year is “See Your Greatness”. This year, new PTK inductees were asked to select an LTC staff or faculty member who was influential in helping achieve their educational goals and lifelong dreams. The following recipients were honored at the 2014 PTK Fall Induction Ceremony: Laurie Adelman, Administrative Professional/Graphic & Web Design Instructor; Doug Hamm, Human Resources Administration Instructor; Kerry Hamm, Clinical Nursing Instructor and Jonathan Weiss, Hotel and Hospitality Management Instructor.

PTK Advisors are Sue Kinneston, LTC Testing Services Manager and Mary Kultgen, LTC Instructor.

About Lakeshore Technical College

Lakeshore Technical College is a leading provider of technical education offering more than 120 career programs including associate degrees, technical diplomas, technical certificates and apprenticeship programs. In addition, LTC offers distance learning, customized training to business and industry, and continuing education opportunities.

Serving a 200,500-resident population in east central Wisconsin, LTC operates a main campus in Cleveland and additional learning sites at LTC Manitowoc, LTC Sheboygan, LTC-Plymouth Science & Technology Center, and the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. The college also operates Community Education Centers at area high schools in Elkhart Lake, Cedar Grove-Belgium, Howards Grove, Kiel, Mishicot, Oostburg, Plymouth, Random Lake, Reedsville, and Two Rivers; and 27 distance learning sites. LTC's mission is to enrich lives and strengthen the economy by preparing a workforce that is skilled, diverse and flexible. On average, 87% of LTC graduates work in the LTC District which includes Manitowoc and Sheboygan Counties, and parts of Calumet and Ozaukee Counties. Visit LTC at:

WTCS New North