PTK honor society names new officers at Lakeshore Technical College



PTK Officers
Two LTC students were recently named officers in the Beta Lambda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. Pictured L to R, Brianna Sprague and Sheri McGee.


Two new officers for Beta Lambda Sigma chapter of Lakeshore Technical College's Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society were given their oath of office recently.  The students will serve as officers for the remaining school year. 

Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society for community colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges.  Membership is based on superior academic achievement.  Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and rewards high-achieving students and provides opportunities to develop skills such as problem solving, project planning, team building, effective communication and conflict resolution.

The newly elected officers are Brianna Sprague, Vice President of College Relations and Sheri McGee as Vice President of Membership.  They join the following officer team:  Lisa Seefeldt, President; Matt Carpenter, VP of Fundraising; Shanna Ruppel, VP of Scholarship; and Heather Weiderhold, VP of Leadership. 

Among many duties, the PTK officer team hosts guest speakers to help students prepare for their life after college; collaborates with college administration to advance the mission of LTC; plans service involvement opportunities and participates in various PTK leadership development workshops sponsored at the state and national level.

PTK Advisors are Sue Kinneston, LTC Testing Services Manager and Mary Kultgen, LTC Instructor.

"Leadership development, personal growth and resume enhancement are key reasons to become an officer," said Kinneston. "We see students grow so much from taking on this kind of leadership role." 

About Lakeshore Technical College

Lakeshore Technical College is a leading provider of technical education offering more than 120 career programs including associate degrees, technical diplomas, technical certificates and apprenticeship programs. In addition, LTC offers distance learning, customized training to business and industry, and continuing education opportunities.

Serving a 200,500-resident population in east central Wisconsin, LTC operates a main campus in Cleveland and additional learning sites at LTC Manitowoc, LTC Sheboygan, LTC-Plymouth Science & Technology Center, and the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. The college also operates Community Education Centers at area high schools in Elkhart Lake, Cedar Grove-Belgium, Howards Grove, Kiel, Mishicot, Oostburg, Plymouth, Random Lake, Reedsville, and Two Rivers; and 27 distance learning sites. LTC's mission is to enrich lives and strengthen the economy by preparing a workforce that is skilled, diverse and flexible. On average, 87% of LTC graduates work in the LTC District which includes Manitowoc and Sheboygan Counties, and parts of Calumet and Ozaukee Counties. Visit LTC at:

WTCS New North