Business Professionals of America Spring Leadership Conference Held at Lakeshore Technical College



First Row (from left to right): Brianna Sprague, Jaime Adkins, Linda Penke, Carrie Bratz, RebeccaGagnon, Amy Dougherty, and Geraldine Gilbert.
Second Row (from left to right): LTC Dean of Business and Technology Edward Janairo, Program Advisor Gordon Rosploch, Program Advisor Bonnie Silbernagel, Heather Schmidlkofer, Atiq Khan,and John Skattebo


Over 100 students from 11 different Wisconsin Technical Colleges competed at the Business Professionals of America Spring Leadership Conference on February 19. The event was hosted by Lakeshore Technical College, marking the first time the statewide event was held at LTC. 

The Spring Leadership Conference featured two days of competition culminating with an Awards Banquet, held on February 21. LTC students placed in the top five a total of 34 times and eight LTC students have qualified for the BPA National Conference held in May in Anaheim, CA. LTC student qualifiers include Brianna Sprague, Jaime Adkins, Heather Schmidlkofer, Linda Penke, Grace Janke, Rebecca Gagnon, Atiq Khan and Geraldine Gilbert. 

LTC students took first place in six events led by Jamie Adkins who was the top finisher in Integrated Office Applications, Interview Skills, and Fundamental Spreadsheet Applications. Brianna Sprague took honors in Advance Interview Skills and Database Applications while Grace Janke placed first in Parliamentary Procedures Concepts. 

The LTC contingent scored second place honors in eleven events. Runners-up included Linda Penke, Prepared Speech;  Heather Schmidlkofer, Keyboarding Production, Fundamental Spreadsheet Applications, and Administrative Support Team; Brianna Sprague for  Administrative Support Team, Advance Spreadsheets, Administrative Support Concepts, and Integrated Office Applications; John Skattebo for Java Programming; Jamie Adkins for Database Applications; Atiq Khan for Computer Network Technology; and Carrie Bratz for Basic Office Systems & Procedures. 

Rebecca Gagnon, a LTC student in the Information Technology program, was recently elected as the new State Marketing Officer. Her term will begin in May, 2015 when Brianna Sprague, a LTC student in the Administrative Professional program, will be concluding her term as the State Secretary. 

The Business Professionals of America - Wisconsin Association also raised $997 for Special Olympics Wisconsin at this event through Penny Wars, State Pin Sales, and a Casino Night.

About Lakeshore Technical College

Lakeshore Technical College is a leading provider of technical education offering more than 120 career programs including associate degrees, technical diplomas, technical certificates and apprenticeship programs. In addition, LTC offers distance learning, customized training to business and industry, and continuing education opportunities.

Serving a 200,500-resident population in east central Wisconsin, LTC operates a main campus in Cleveland and additional learning sites at LTC Manitowoc, LTC Sheboygan, LTC-Plymouth Science & Technology Center, and the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. The college also operates Community Education Centers at area high schools in Elkhart Lake, Cedar Grove-Belgium, Howards Grove, Kiel, Mishicot, Oostburg, Plymouth, Random Lake, Reedsville, and Two Rivers; and 27 distance learning sites. LTC's mission is to enrich lives and strengthen the economy by preparing a workforce that is skilled, diverse and flexible. On average, 87% of LTC graduates work in the LTC District which includes Manitowoc and Sheboygan Counties, and parts of Calumet and Ozaukee Counties. Visit LTC at:

WTCS New North