Phi Theta Kappa honor society welcomes new members at Lakeshore Technical College



2015 Inductees
Sixty five LTC students were inducted into the Beta Lamda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society on April 2 at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. Thirty six inductees were in attendance for the ceremony. Pictured first row, Left to Right: Catrina Chappel, Ashley Droste, Tanya Halverson, Pa Xiong, Sarah Mueller, Jessica Grundl and Emma Fillafer. Second Row, left to right: Victoria Gardner, Suzanne Sielski, Heather Schmidlkofer, Jaime Adkins, Jessica Dirks, Mikala Christensen, Jacob Tarnowski, Timothy Fibiger and Jessica Hansen. Third Row, left to right: Erin Wojcik, Jennifer Butler, Kayla Pautz, Nichole Mangin, Brittany Meise, Geraldine Gilbert, Aimee Hett, Stacy Thede, Emily Biese, Crystal Wilhite and Laura Schultz. Fourth Row, left to right: Megan Marver, Joan Schuttey, Courtney Hawver, Cassandra Wetzel, Frank Kulpa Jr., Luke Farley, Brandon Finck, Jennifer Bink and Stacie VanEss.


Sixty five students from Lakeshore Technical College were inducted into the Beta Lamda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society on April 2nd at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute.  A reception for the new inductees was held prior to the ceremony. Thirty six inductees were in attendance for the ceremony. 


Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) has become one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. PTK is the only honor society that serves two-year colleges offering associate degree programs. Membership is based primarily on academic excellence and is extended by invitation only.


A recent study of PTK members shows that they have an overall student success rate of 91 percent compared to a national success rate of just 38 percent. Not only are PTK members four times more likely to complete college than an average student, but they are nearly twice as likely to complete college as students with similar grade point averages (3.5 or higher). In addition, leadership development is a hallmark of PTK, and employers are looking for leadership skills.


A formal welcome was given by Dr. Michael Lanser, LTC President and the keynote speaker for the evening of celebration was Jon Weiss, Hospitality and Golf Course Management Instructor at LTC.  The PTK officers presiding over the ceremony were Sheri McGee, VP of Membership; Brianna Sprague, VP of College Relations and Heather Wiederhold, VP of Leadership. 


New PTK members are listed by their Wisconsin hometown unless otherwise noted and include:


Indianapolis, IN

Emma Fillafer



Danielle Kulow



Kassandra Kanter



Cassandra Wetzel



Dawn Zastrow


Elkhart Lake

Katlin Basler, Jessica Hansen and Dallas Kahlhamer



Erin Wojcik


Howards Grove

Bradley Keenan



Emily Biese, Jennifer Bink, Jose Davila-Hernandez, Ashley Droste, Luke Farley, Jessica Grundl, Sarah Mueller and Jacob Tarnowski



Timothy Fibiger


Lake Mills

Todd Yandre



Dorthea Alsteen, Melissa Bruechert, Brandon Finck, Geraldine Gilbert, Aimee Hett, Ryan Meisner, Cheryl Quintana,  Shane Rodriguez, Heather Schmidlkofer, Suzanne Sielski and Mason Wilson


New Holstein

Catrina Chapple



Mikala Christensen, Tanya Riederer and Stacie VanEss



Jennifer  Butler, Jennifer Campbell, Jessica Dirks, Victoria Gardner, Tanya Halverson, Courtney Hawver,  Lee Jahnz, Gina Koelpin, Brownel Lee, Vanna Lor, CeTee Ly, Megan Marver, Brittany Meise, Christopher Niemuth, Kayla Pautz, Kathryn Reinwand, Laura Schultz, Joan Schuttey, Stacy Thede, Crystal Vue and Pa Xiong


Sheboygan Falls

Holly Bonnett, Rachel Prahl, Crystal Wilhite and Allison Wischki


St. Cloud

Eric Heimermann


Two Rivers

Frank Kulpa Jr. and Susan Landt



Jaime Adkins



Nichole Mangin


 "Phi Theta Kappa is all about achieving greatness.  We see such growth from the time students become members and get involved up until graduation," says Sue Kinneston, LTC Testing Services Manager and PTK Advisor.   "PTK offers students opportunities to develop leadership skills which helps them succeed after graduation."


Phi Theta Kappa's theme this year is "See Your Greatness". This year, new PTK inductees were asked to select an LTC staff or faculty member who was influential in helping achieve their educational goals and lifelong dreams. The following recipients were honored at the 2015 PTK Spring Induction Ceremony: Britanni Meinnert, Supervisory Management/Hotel and Hospitality Management Instructor; Kristi Irving, Counselor; Rivi Hatt, TRiO Student Support Services Director; Erin Souik, TRiO Student Support Services Coordinator; Tootsie Sommers, TRiO Student Services Outreach Specialist; Laurie Adelman, Administrative Assistant/Graphic and Web Instructor; Kelly Ryba, Mechanical Design Instructor; Bonnie Silbernagel, Accounting Instructor; Michael Reisenauer, Marketing Instructor and Cathy Newport, Culinary Adjunct Faculty. 


PTK Advisors are Sue Kinneston, LTC Testing Services Manager and Mary Kultgen, LTC Instructor.

About Lakeshore Technical College

Lakeshore Technical College is a leading provider of technical education offering more than 120 career programs including associate degrees, technical diplomas, technical certificates and apprenticeship programs. In addition, LTC offers distance learning, customized training to business and industry, and continuing education opportunities.

Serving a 200,500-resident population in east central Wisconsin, LTC operates a main campus in Cleveland and additional learning sites at LTC Manitowoc, LTC Sheboygan, LTC-Plymouth Science & Technology Center, and the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. The college also operates Community Education Centers at area high schools in Elkhart Lake, Cedar Grove-Belgium, Howards Grove, Kiel, Mishicot, Oostburg, Plymouth, Random Lake, Reedsville, and Two Rivers; and 27 distance learning sites. LTC's mission is to enrich lives and strengthen the economy by preparing a workforce that is skilled, diverse and flexible. On average, 87% of LTC graduates work in the LTC District which includes Manitowoc and Sheboygan Counties, and parts of Calumet and Ozaukee Counties. Visit LTC at:

WTCS New North