LTC Earns Honors at national Phi Theta Kappa Conference




Lakeshore Technical College President Michael Lanser was recently awarded a 2015 Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction at Phi Theta Kappa's 97th Annual Convention in San Antonio, Texas.


College presidents and campus CEOs are selected for this national award on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa's longest-serving Board of Directors Chair and President Emeritus of Highline Community College in Des Moines, Washington. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa's Most Distinguished College President in 1984.


LTC also earned recognition as a Top 100 Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa among the nearly 1,300 chapters worldwide.  Each year, chapters participate in the Hallmark Awards Program.  The top combined scores from the Honors in Action Project Award and the College Project Award are used to determine the Top 100 chapters.    The projects recognize excellence in academic research, leadership roles and leadership development activities, service learning and collaboration. 


"I believe strongly in PTK because I've seen the direct correlation PTK has on student success," said Lanser. "Our students take this very seriously and I'm really happy they are being recognized for their efforts." 


Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) has become one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. PTK is the only honor society that serves two-year colleges offering associate degree programs. Membership is based primarily on academic excellence and is extended by invitation only.


About Lakeshore Technical College

Lakeshore Technical College is a leading provider of technical education offering more than 120 career programs including associate degrees, technical diplomas, technical certificates and apprenticeship programs. In addition, LTC offers distance learning, customized training to business and industry, and continuing education opportunities.

Serving a 200,500-resident population in east central Wisconsin, LTC operates a main campus in Cleveland and additional learning sites at LTC Manitowoc, LTC Sheboygan, LTC-Plymouth Science & Technology Center, and the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. The college also operates Community Education Centers at area high schools in Elkhart Lake, Cedar Grove-Belgium, Howards Grove, Kiel, Mishicot, Oostburg, Plymouth, Random Lake, Reedsville, and Two Rivers; and 27 distance learning sites. LTC's mission is to enrich lives and strengthen the economy by preparing a workforce that is skilled, diverse and flexible. On average, 87% of LTC graduates work in the LTC District which includes Manitowoc and Sheboygan Counties, and parts of Calumet and Ozaukee Counties. Visit LTC at:

WTCS New North