LTC honors students, community leaders at awards banquet



Alumnus - Travis Knier of Rockline addresses the crowd at Lakeshore Technical College during the College's 44th annual Awards Banquet.

Ed Leadership - Michael Brotz, CEO of PLENCO, receives his plaque signifying his Educational Leadership Award during the LTC's 44th annual Awards Banquet


On May 8 Lakeshore Technical College recognized 62 students for their achievements in and out of the classroom and named its 2015 Educational Leadership and Alumnus of the Year award winners.

Travis Knier, Talent Acquisition Coordinator at Rockline Industries in Sheboygan, was named Alumnus of the Year.  A 2003 graduate of LTC's Marketing program, Knier went on to earn his bachelor's degree from Silver Lake College and is currently working toward a master's degree in Business Administration from Lakeland College.   


Knier is passionate about technical education and credits his LTC education for his success and has demonstrated his belief in LTC by his commitment to serving on the Lakeshore Technical College Human Resources advisory board where he provides input to the Human Resources program at LTC.    Knier also served as the Chair of the Communications Committee for the Sheboygan Area Society for Human Resource Management, an organization he has been active with since 2012.


Receiving the college's Educational Leadership award was Michael Brotz, CEO of Plastics Engineering Company (PLENCO) in Sheboygan.   Brotz has been a champion of education for LTC and the region, providing technical guidance and expertise.  Brotz has demonstrated his commitment to LTC by serving as a member of the LTC Foundation board from the mid-1980's to the mid 1990's.  This partnership resulted in the company's support of capital projects, new and innovative programming, and ongoing recruitment and the hiring of LTC students trained in manufacturing and business-related programs.


Over the past 27 years, Mr. Brotz and PLENCO has generously donated to the LTC Foundation in support of capital projects and innovative programming needs. In 1998, the company helped offset construction costs of the LTC Public Safety Building which now serves as a regional training center for the first responder community. The Plastics Engineering Public Safety Training Center provides comprehensive educational programs, courses, and services related to safety, security, emergency response and management, and Homeland Security.  


Student awards recognized program excellence and club involvement.  Winners are listed below by their Wisconsin hometown unless otherwise noted and include:



Tom Malone, Auto Collision Club; Zone Vang, IT-Network Specialist program



Briana Propson, Criminal Justice - Law Enforcement program


Cedar Grove

Helen Villarreal, Medical Assistant program



Parker Stecker, Welding - Industrial program



Bethany Lindemann, Student Government Association Secretary; Robert Pragalz, Horticulture Technician program


Elkhart Lake

Amy Gross, Criminal Justice Student Association; Dallas Kahlhamer, Business Management program; Ryan Kraemer, Manufacturing Management program; Robert Schmidt, Business Management program


Francis Creek

Kathy Robisch, Paralegal program



Micah Freis, Electro-Mechanical Technology program



Ashley Droste, Early Childhood Education program; Mason Mattie, Student Government Association Vice President



Keith Kugler, Machine Tool Operation program; Maite Nava, IT - Computer Support Specialist program; Andrew Parker, Nuclear Technology program; Annel Ramirez Gomez, Fabrication Technician program; Krisann Robar, Weld Club; Derek Rosinsky, Electro-Mechanical Technology program; Billy Spiering, IT-Web Software Developer; Brianna Sprague, Business Professionals of America and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society - Beta Lambda Sigma All USA Academic Team; Chris Woller, IT - Network Specialist program



Leonard Kowalski, CNC Technician program


New Holstein

Brooke Koeser, Fabrication Technician program



Carol Gust, LTC Wisconsin Technical College System Ambassador; Maria Joosse, Nursing-Associate Degree program



Vanessa Ceilley, United Web & Marketing Association; Amber Clark, Human Resource Administration program and LTC Student Chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management; Samantha Ruppel, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society - Beta Lambda Sigma Chapter; Ann Smith, Accounting program; Dennis Wantland Jr., Auto Maintenance Club



Renee Kasten, Welding - Industrial program; Brenda Russell, Health Physics Society Student Chapter



Athena Bostwick-Kunstman, Student Government Association President; Manuel Collado, Dairy Herd Management program; Charles David Denny Jr., Auto Collision Repair & Refinishing Technician program; Todd Dondlinger, Sustainable Landscape Horticulture program; Kristi Hasenstein, Lakeshore Chapter of the Student Nurses Association; Nicole Johnsrud, Nursing-Associate Degree program; Andrew Liebhard, IT-Web and Software Developer program; Velyi Lor, Marketing program; Sheri McGee, Horticulture Club; Samantha Olsen, Criminal Justice - Law Enforcement program; Thana Oney, Medical Assistant Club; Mike Rach, Mechanical Design Technology program; Vicki Schoen, Hotel/Hospitality Management program; Pa Voua Vang, Hospitality Club; Heather Wiederhold, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society - Beta Lambda Sigma All USA Academic Team;  Melissa Witzeling, Human Resource Administration program; Mai Choua Xiong, Ophthalmic Medical Assistant program


Sheboygan Falls

Bradley Henning, Industrial Maintenance program; Isaias Reyes, Auto Collision Repair & Refinishing Technician program


Two Rivers

Josh Krahn, Auto Maintenance Technician program; Christina Onderbeke, Administrative Professional program; Linda Penke, Campus Christian Fellowship Club; Jean Shaum, CNC Technician program; PaNhia Vang, Graphic and Web Design program



Jaime Adkins, Administrative Professional program; Justin TenDolle, Machine Tool Operation program


West Bend

Jacob Lawrence, Wind Energy Technology program

About Lakeshore Technical College

Each year more than 10,000 people enroll in courses at Lakeshore Technical College. They rely on LTC for job preparation, to earn a degree, upgrade a specialized skill, train as an apprentice, or seek a high school equivalency. LTC faculty and staff meet students where they are in life and help them get one step closer to achieving their goals.

LTC is a nationally recognized technical college. The college was ranked the #2 two-year college in the nation for adult learners by Washington Monthly, the #17 trade school in the nation by Forbes, #11 in the nation for two-year college educational outcomes by, a top-150 two-year college for the fifth consecutive time by the Aspen Institute, and a top 10 Bellwether Award finalist.

Approximately 800 students graduate from LTC each year, and LTC’s associate degree graduates earn a median salary of $47,800* per year. In addition to the Cleveland campus, LTC serves students in Manitowoc and Sheboygan, and offers classes at additional sites throughout the district. Visit LTC at

*Source: 2019 LTC Graduate Outcomes report, 795 graduates contacted to complete the survey; 508 graduates or 64% completed the survey.

WTCS New North