LTC Board Appoints New Members and Elects Officers




The LTC Board of Directors have recently approved three new board members, reappointed one, and named new Board Officers for the upcoming term. The board also named new officers at its July 13 meeting.


LTC is governed by a nine-member board appointed by the county board chairs of the counties making up the Lakeshore district - Calumet, Manitowoc, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan. The LTC District Board consists of two employer members, two employee members, three additional members, one elected official member who holds a state or local office, and one school district administrator. Board members serve staggered three-year terms and meet once a month. 

Dr. Joseph Sheehan has been reappointed as the School District Administrator member for term beginning July 1, 2015 and ending June 30, 2018. Sheehan has been the Superintendent of Schools for the Sheboygan Area School District since 1999. He holds a Ph.D. in Educational Administration from Marquette University.  Dr. Sheehan also teaches a graduate level course at Lakeland College.  Dr. Sheehan is a member of the New North Task Force and a past member of the Sheboygan Kiwanis Club. 


Mr. James Parrish has been appointed as the employer member for term beginning July 1, 2015 and ending June 30, 2018. Parrish is the Owner/Manager of Kvindlog Service, Inc. an auto repair and convenience store in Waldo since 2007. Parrish has his formal education in auto repair and continued educational opportunities in the area of industrial equipment. Parrish is also a volunteer member of the Waldo Fire Department.  He assists with the education of not only firefighters in the Waldo Fire Department, but firefighters through Sheboygan County.  Parrish also volunteers his time with his church and 4H.


Ms. Lois Vasquez has been appointed as the employee member for term beginning July 1, 2015 and ending June 30, 2018. Vasquez is a Technical Service Representative for Modern Business Machine and a Sales Associate for Office Max.  Vasquez holds her Associates Degree in Applied Science - IT Network Specialist from Lakeshore Technical College.   Vasquez also served as Student Government Association secretary, Phi Theta Kappa secretary and Wisconsin Student Government representative while completing her degree at Lakeshore Technical College.  Vasquez also volunteers her time with Green Acres Boxer Rescue.


Mr. Don Pohlman been appointed as the elected official member for term beginning July 16, 2015 and ending June 30, 2017.  Pohlman is the Mayor of the City of Plymouth.  He holds a degree in Accounting and Business Administration from Concordia University.   Pohlman was enlisted in the U.S. Army and served as a medic during the Vietnam Era.  He is a life member of the VFW Post 5612 Plymouth and a 36 year member of American Legion Post 243 Plymouth.  He is also a 38 year member of the Plymouth Rotary Club, a Boy Scout Merit Badge counselor and serves on the board of directors for his church.  In his spare time he drives part-time school bus in Sheboygan and part-time Tour Coach across the country.  


In addition, current Board members Sharon Chappy, John Lukas and Roy Kluss will be the Board Officers for the next term. Chappy will be Chair, Lukas will serve as Vice Chair and Kluss will become the Secretary/ Treasurer.


Sharon Chappy, PhD, RN, CNOR, is the Dean of the School of Nursing at Concordia University. She has over 30 years of experience as an operating room nurse. Dr. Chappy is a member of the American Nurses Association, the Wisconsin Nurses Association, Sigma Theta Tau, and the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN). She currently serves as Research Editor of the AORN Journal. She has received numerous academic awards, including the Wisconsin Idea Fellow, Penson Award for Teaching, and the EAA and C.R. Meyer Endowed Professorship. She was named a "Terrific Teacher" by WFRV-TV in 2009.


Lukas is vice president of LDI Industries, a family owned business with approximately 250 employees in Manitowoc and Illinois. He has received the Youth Apprentice Business Partner of the Year award for Manitowoc County, Governor's Exemplary Employer Award, and LTC's Apprenticeship Medallion and Educational Leadership awards. Lukas is also active as a member on program advisory committees, the Lakeshore Area School to Work Consortium, and the Manitowoc Chamber Workforce Development Committee. He serves as the past president for the Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association executive committee. He has served on the LTC Board since 2001.

Roy Kluss is the Huber Coordinator for the Sheboygan County Detention Center where he administers the inmate work release program. For his work in the community, Mr. Kluss received the Sheboygan County Award of Excellence, Curtis and Associate's Project Excellence Award, and LTC's Community Service Award. He is a member of the Tri-County Victim Impact Committee, Statewide Pretrial Intoxicated Driver Intervention, and the Sheboygan County Coalition Against Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault.

About Lakeshore Technical College

Each year more than 10,000 people enroll in courses at Lakeshore Technical College. They rely on LTC for job preparation, to earn a degree, upgrade a specialized skill, train as an apprentice, or seek a high school equivalency. LTC faculty and staff meet students where they are in life and help them get one step closer to achieving their goals.

LTC is a nationally recognized technical college. The college was ranked the #2 two-year college in the nation for adult learners by Washington Monthly, the #17 trade school in the nation by Forbes, #11 in the nation for two-year college educational outcomes by, a top-150 two-year college for the fifth consecutive time by the Aspen Institute, and a top 10 Bellwether Award finalist.

Approximately 800 students graduate from LTC each year, and LTC’s associate degree graduates earn a median salary of $47,800* per year. In addition to the Cleveland campus, LTC serves students in Manitowoc and Sheboygan, and offers classes at additional sites throughout the district. Visit LTC at

*Source: 2019 LTC Graduate Outcomes report, 795 graduates contacted to complete the survey; 508 graduates or 64% completed the survey.

WTCS New North