Phi Theta Kappa honor society welcomes new members at Lakeshore Technical College



PTK Induction Ceremony - Fall 2015
Seventy-one LTC students were inducted into the Beta Lamda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society on November 5 at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. Thirty-nine inductees were in attendance for the ceremony.Pictured first row, Left to Right: Donna Cimarosti, Brenda Roehrborn Dorau, Heidi Baumann, Carley Hottinger, Taylor Perronne, Paul Yang, Jonathan Baum, Brandon Dieringer and Richard Nelson.Second Row, left to right: Rebecca Thomas, Sara Leu, Julie Siehr, Carrie Bratz, Nadezhda Lisch and Shelley Heinemann.Third Row, left to right: Joy Otto, Kathleen Werner, Crystal Balint, Amanda Flores, Kayla Hemb, Patricia Windle, Tabitha Lane, Sister Thi Le, Sister Tuyen Le, Jordan King and Heather Meyer.Fourth Row, left to right: Karyna Kaminski, Courtney Shebesta, Rebecca Novak, Robert Drews, Patrick Seifert, Sarah Myers, Jeffrey Prucha, Kim Busalacchi, Stephanie Hughes, Rebecca Gagnon, Youa Khang, Daniel Sohn and Brenda Russell.



Seventy-one students from Lakeshore Technical College recently joined the Beta Lamda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society.   Thirty-nine members attended the Induction Ceremony held at Lakeshore Culinary Institute on November 5.  A reception for the new inductees was held prior to the ceremony. 


Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) has become one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. PTK is the only honor society that serves two-year colleges offering associate degree programs. Membership is based primarily on academic excellence and is extended by invitation only.


A recent study of PTK members shows that they have an overall student success rate of 91 percent compared to a national success rate of just 38 percent. Not only are PTK members four times more likely to complete college than an average student, but they are nearly twice as likely to complete college as students with similar grade point averages (3.5 or higher). In addition, leadership development is a hallmark of PTK, and employers are looking for leadership skills.


A formal welcome was given by Dr. Michael Lanser, LTC President and the keynote speaker for the evening of celebration was Kathi McNellis, Psychology Instructor at LTC.  The PTK officers presiding over the ceremony were: Heather Wiederhold, President; Jennifer Bink, VP of College Relations; Sara DesArmo, VP of Fundraising; Amanda Fernandez, VP of Leadership; Grace Janke, VP of Membership and Sarah Mueller, VP of Scholarship.


New PTK members are listed by their Wisconsin hometown unless otherwise noted and include:

Brooklyn Center, MN
Neng Yang

Sabrina Jadoul

Cedar Grove
Nicole Bruggink

Colin Bischoff

Carrie Bratz

Elkhart Lake
Taylor Perronne

Richard Nelson

Howards Grove
Daniel Sohn

Jonathan Baum and Nadezhda Lisch

La Crosse
Jennifer Schultz

Pamela Schroeder

Dawn Evenson, Wendy Frisch, Rebecca Gagnon, Stephanie Hughes, Jordan King, Sister Thi Le,  Sister Tuyen Le, Sarah Myers, Benjamin Nolen, Aaron Pleasants, Courtney Shebesta and Julie Siehr

Sara Leu

Kim Busalacchi, Heather Meyer, Theresa Schleh, Carrie Seehaver and Heather Sonnenburg

Port Washington
Robert Drews

Random Lake
Brandon Dieringer

Travis Haelfrisch and Brenda Russell

Marissa Lindner

Crystal Balint, Heidi Baumann, Loretta Blair, Michael Burgard, Donna Cimarosti, Amanda Flores, Tim Halbach, Shelley Heinemann, Kayla Hemb, Carley Hottinger, Joseph Javorsky, Karyna Kaminski, Youa Khang, Tabitha Lane, David Lee, Jordan Leslie, Julie Lovett, Rachel Marco, Zing Moua, Rebecca Novak, Jeffrey Prucha, Patrick Seifert, Rebecca Thomas, Madison Vang, Crystal Wakker, Kathleen Werner, Patricia Windle, Paris Xiong, Paul Yang, Tom Yang and Yeng Yang.

Two Rivers
Jessica Bork and Vicki Stock

Joy Otto

Brenda Roehrborn Dorau

Mallory Greicar


"Being involved with Phi Theta Kappa is like being part of a leader incubator," says Sue Kinneston, LTC Testing Services Manager and PTK Advisor. "Officers have the opportunity to practice their leadership skills by running meetings, public speaking, setting and reporting goals, organizing events and projects, mentoring members and writing research papers. Practicing these skills will make them a well-rounded employee in the future."


This year, new PTK inductees were asked to select an LTC staff or faculty member who was influential in helping achieve their educational goals and lifelong dreams. The following recipients were honored at the 2015 PTK Fall Induction Ceremony: Kathi McNellis, Psychology Instructor; Jim Mani, Economics Instructor; Jeremy Pagel, Sociology Instructor; Mike Panosh, General Education Instructor; Lori Rooker, Medical Assistant Instructor; Laurie Adelman, Administrative Professional/Graphic and Web Design Instructor; Dawn Klemish, Administrative Professional Instructor; Kurk Anderson, Quality Assurance/Supply Chain Instructor; Kristi Irving, Counselor; Pat Tyunaitis, Math Instructor.


Ben Zuengler, Lakeland College Transfer Admissions Advisor, was also in attendance and announced the $12,000 scholarship available to PTK students who transfer to Lakeland College from LTC.


PTK Advisors are Sue Kinneston, LTC Testing Services Manager and Mary Kultgen, LTC Instructor.

About Lakeshore Technical College

Each year more than 10,000 people enroll in courses at Lakeshore Technical College. They rely on LTC for job preparation, to earn a degree, upgrade a specialized skill, train as an apprentice, or seek a high school equivalency. LTC faculty and staff meet students where they are in life and help them get one step closer to achieving their goals.<.p>

LTC, a nationally recognized technical college, was recently named a top 10 Bellwether Award finalist. The college was also ranked the #17 trade school in the nation by Forbes, the #3 two-year college in the nation for adult learners by Washington Monthly, #9 in the nation for two-year college educational outcomes by, and a top-150 two-year college for the fourth consecutive time by the Aspen Institute.

Close to 1,000 students graduate from LTC each year, and LTC’s associate degree graduates earn a median salary of $46,800 per year. In addition to the Cleveland campus, LTC serves students in Manitowoc and Sheboygan, and offers classes at four additional sites throughout the district. Visit LTC at

WTCS New North