Phi Theta Kappa honor society welcomes new members at Lakeshore Technical College



2017 Spring PTK Induction
Fifty-five LTC students were inducted into the Beta Lambda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society recently at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. Twenty-six inductees were in attendance for the ceremony. Pictured first row, left to right: Courtney Theobald, Alyssa Brendel, Kayla Meyer, Priscilla Torres, Vanessa Negrete, Kimberlyn Schultz, Caterina Schmidt, Danielle Lusty. Second row, left to right: Tanner Yankee, Kelly Johnston, Raul Lopez, Caitlin Seguin, Sydne Blackshear, Rebecca Hinds, Monica Butzen. Third row, left to right: Melanie Lyon, Calvin Lee, Patricia Szyman, Mai Joua Lee, Matthew Bendig, Elizabeth Schubert, Keri Geib, Betsie Anderson, Steven Mandel, Jonathan Becker, Caleb Hall.



Fifty-five students from Lakeshore Technical College were recently inducted into the Beta Lambda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society in a ceremony held at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) has become one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. PTK is the only honor society that serves two-year colleges offering associate degree programs. Membership is based primarily on academic excellence and is extended by invitation only.

A recent study of PTK members shows that they have an overall student success rate of 91 percent compared to a national success rate of just 38 percent. Not only are PTK members four times more likely to complete college than an average student, but they are nearly twice as likely to complete college as students with similar grade point averages (3.5 or higher). In addition, leadership development is a hallmark of PTK, which provides value on students' resumes value

A formal welcome was given by Sue Kinneston, LTC testing services manager and PTK advisor and the keynote speaker for the evening of celebration was LTC President, Michael Lanser.  The PTK officers presiding over the ceremony were Jessica Kraemer, president; Tyler Foulk, vice president of fundraising; Thai Silva, vice president of fellowship; Lydia Soodsma, vice president of college relations.

New PTK members are listed by their Wisconsin hometown unless otherwise noted and include:


Danielle Lusty


Elizabeth Schubert

Elkhart Lake

Dakota Steffen

Fond du Lac

Andrew Scott

Howards Grove

Sydne Blackshear

Travis Dieringer



Matthew Bendig, Danielle Yaeger

Christina Bergemann, Shane Erskine, Melissa Franz, Rebecca Hinds, Karissa Kopplinger, Ian Leiker, Caterina Schmidt, Kimberlyn Schultz, Samantha Slater, Caitlin Seguin, Patricia Szyman, Joann Wagner, Crystal Whatley


Mt. Calvary

Kayla Meyer

Jennifer Glodny


New Holstein

David Hechel


Rebecca Tenhaken, Cheryl Wozniak


Keri Geib, Alex Steinke, Caleb Tenpas

Random Lake

Michael Vojnovich, Tabitha Winter


Betsie Anderson, Jonathan Becker, Alyssa Brendel, Monica Butzen, Caleb Hall, Elizabeth Hmircik, Kelly Johnston, Calvin Lee, Edna Lee, Mai Joua Lee, Raul Lopez, Melanie Lyon, Steven Mandel, Andrea Meyer, Vanessa Negrete, Antonio Padilla, Tim Raasch, Courtney Theobald, Priscilla Torres, Silas Vanderweele, Rayven Whipple, Reid Yinko

St. Nazianz

Maricela Rodriquez

Two Rivers

Tanner Yankee

"Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is a way for us to honor students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement," said Mary Kultgen, LTC instructor and PTK advisor during her congratulatory remarks. "In addition to the recognition, PTK offers students many scholarship opportunities, as well as opportunities to develop leadership skills and contribute to the betterment of their communities.

The new PTK inductees were asked to select an LTC staff or faculty member who was influential in helping achieve their educational goals and lifelong dreams. The following recipients were honored at the 2017 PTK Spring Induction Ceremony: Laurie Adelman, administrative professional/graphic and web design instructor; Sarah Bornemann, web & software design/developer & programming instructor; Doug Hamm, human resources administration instructor; Nancy Henschel, communications instructor; Jennifer Irish, early childhood education instructor; Megan Schaalma, hotel & hospitality management instructor; Victor Schueller, anatomy and physiology instructor; Renee Wallschlager, general education/pre-college instructor; Bruce Welnetz, adjunct instructor and Nicole Yang, multicultural student advocate.

About Lakeshore Technical College

Each year more than 10,000 people enroll in courses at Lakeshore Technical College. They rely on LTC for job preparation, to earn a degree, upgrade a specialized skill, train as an apprentice, or seek a high school equivalency. LTC faculty and staff meet students where they are in life and help them get one step closer to achieving their goals.<.p>

LTC, a nationally recognized technical college, was recently named a top 10 Bellwether Award finalist. The college was also ranked the #17 trade school in the nation by Forbes, the #3 two-year college in the nation for adult learners by Washington Monthly, #9 in the nation for two-year college educational outcomes by, and a top-150 two-year college for the fourth consecutive time by the Aspen Institute.

Close to 1,000 students graduate from LTC each year, and LTC’s associate degree graduates earn a median salary of $46,800 per year. In addition to the Cleveland campus, LTC serves students in Manitowoc and Sheboygan, and offers classes at four additional sites throughout the district. Visit LTC at

WTCS New North