LTC Board Chair Elected ACCT Director-At-Large




Lakeshore Technical College Board Chair, John Lukas, has been elected as director-at-large on the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) Board. ACCT is a non-profit educational organization of governing boards, representing more than 6,500 elected and appointed trustees who govern over 1,200 community, technical, and junior colleges in the United States. Lukas was one of five candidates elected last week to the 26-member board and will serve a three-year term.

The 26-member ACCT Board of Directors consists of 15 directors elected regionally, nine directors-at-large elected by the Senate, and two directors appointed by the Chair. The two main functions of the ACCT Board involve national-level advocacy as well as trustee education to strengthen community college leadership.

"I am humbled and honored to be elected to this position," said Lukas.  "As trustees, we have the responsibility to govern, advocate, set policies, and ensure that student success is the top priority of everything we do. Our work is critical to the future success of two-year colleges."

Lukas has served on the LTC Board of Directors in several capacities since 2001 and has been a leader within the Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association. He has also been an active member of the ACCT having served on the Member Communications and Education Committee, and currently serving on the Governance and Bylaws Committee. He is currently the co-owner and vice president of LDI Industries in Manitowoc, a position he has held since 1993.

"John is a valued member of the LTC Board of Directors, a leader in the community, and an important advocate for education in the area," said Dr. Paul Carlsen, LTC President. "With this appointment, John will be involved in shaping and advocating national policies benefitting and advancing the mission of technical and community colleges across the country."

Lukas will serve as director-at-large on the ACCT Board of Directors through October 2020.

About ACCT

Founded in 1972, the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) is the nonprofit educational organization of governing boards, representing more than 6,500 elected and appointed trustees of community, technical, and junior colleges in the United States and beyond.  ACCT's purpose is to strengthen the capacity of community, technical, and junior colleges and to foster the realization of their missions through effective board leadership at local, state, and national levels.  For more information, visit

About Lakeshore Technical College

Lakeshore Technical College is a leading provider of technical education offering more than 120 career programs including associate degrees, technical diplomas, technical certificates and apprenticeship programs. In addition, LTC offers distance learning, customized training to business and industry, and continuing education opportunities.

Serving a 211,900-resident population in east central Wisconsin, LTC operates a main campus in Cleveland and additional learning sites at LTC Manitowoc, LTC Sheboygan, LTC-Plymouth Science & Technology Center, and the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. The college also operates Community Education Centers at area high schools in Elkhart Lake, Cedar Grove-Belgium, Howards Grove, Kiel, Mishicot, Oostburg, Plymouth, Random Lake, Reedsville, and Two Rivers; and 27 distance learning sites. LTC's mission is to enrich lives and strengthen the economy by preparing a workforce that is skilled, diverse and flexible. On average, 87% of LTC graduates work in the LTC District which includes Manitowoc and Sheboygan Counties, and parts of Calumet and Ozaukee Counties. Visit LTC at:

WTCS New North