Phi Theta Kappa honor society welcomes new members at Lakeshore Technical College



LTC Spring 2018 PTK Induction
Sixty-five LTC students were inducted into the Beta Lambda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society recently at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute. Thirty-one inductees were in attendance for the ceremony. 1st Row: Deb Blahnik, Amanda Montez, Therese Gabrielse, Melissa Araiza, Paige Weygandt, Michelle Gudex, Choua Lee, Amber Preston. 2nd Row: Sarah Cops, Robin Schultz, Kailey Davies, Tehya Sanders, Katie Klatkiewicz, Crystal Pocian, Andrea Fink, Kate VonDerVellen, Kimberly Schwartz. 3rd Row: Leslie Occiano, Cassidy Cook, Adam Multer, Cailin Fournier, Julia Sievers, Roberta Blacklock, Crista Larsen. 4th Row: Holly Schilling, Candice Roitt, Jon Benfield, Jennifer Underwood, Kyle R. Wagner, Darin Menk, Scott Cleveland.



Sixty-five students from Lakeshore Technical College were recently inducted into the Beta Lambda Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society in a ceremony held at the Lakeshore Culinary Institute.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) has become one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. PTK is the only honor society that serves two-year colleges offering associate degree programs. Membership is based primarily on academic excellence and is extended by invitation only.

“We are very proud of the accomplishments of these LTC students. Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is a way for us to honor students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement,” said LTC President Paul Carlsen. “In addition to the recognition, PTK offers students many scholarship opportunities, as well as opportunities to develop leadership skills and contribute to the betterment of their communities.”

New PTK members are listed by their Wisconsin hometown unless otherwise noted and include:


  • Sarah Cops         

Cedar Grove

  • Crista Larsen
  • Destinee Topp


  • Kelly Fhlug
  • Leslie Occiano


  • Caitlin Branham

Howards Grove

  • Michelle Gudex
  • Brenda Komoroski          
  • Crystal Pocian   


  • Annmarie Stone               


  • Cameron Doute
  • Therese Gabrielse           
  • Desirae Roehrig


  • Anne Haney       
  • Derek Hansen   
  • Nicole Mann      
  • Akasha Manthe
  • Darin Menk        
  • Robin Schultz    
  • Eric Sweetman  
  • Steven Toltzmann           
  • Paige Weygandt              


  • Jonathan Benfield


  • John Ryan


  • Kristi Kesick        
  • Holly Schilling    
  • Kate Vondervellen
  • Zachary Worm  

Port Washington

  • Stephanie Alimeta           
  • Michelle McNaughtan   


  • Alicia Stueber    


  • Leovardo Aguilar
  • William Allison
  • Roberta Blacklock           
  • Jordan Brown   
  • Scott Cleveland 
  • Cassidy Cook     
  • Kailey Davies     
  • Hayley Dobas    
  • Jamie Feldmann
  • Cailin Fournier
  • Scott Jackson    
  • Katherine Klatkiewicz     
  • Choua Lee          
  • Ashley Loebel    
  • Amanda Montez              
  • Candice Roitt
  • Kimberly Schwartz          
  • Julia Sievers       
  • Nhia Thao           
  • Jennifer Underwood      
  • Kyle Wagner      

Sheboygan Falls

  • Andrea  Fink       
  • Jacob Mertzig
  • Adam Multer     
  • Jason Parks        

Two Rivers

  • Melissa  Araiza
  • Jamilynn Blachowski
  • Linda Gullickson
  • Tehya Sanders  
  • Kurt Selke


  • Tonya Wenzel   
  • Dalton Braun


  • Amber Preston 
  • Debra Blahnik

During the induction ceremony, a formal welcome was given by Sue Kinneston, LTC testing services manager and PTK advisor. Kinneston made note of one new PTK member, Adam Multer, who joined the honor society as a high school student.

“Adam is a senior at Kohler High School and has already earned 12 college credits while completing associate-degree-level coursework,” she said. “How impressive that he has started college while still in high school and achieved a high grade point average.”  

The keynote speaker for the evening was LTC Math Instructor Pat Tyunaitis. The PTK officers presiding over the ceremony were Betsi Anderson, president; Kelly Heard, vice president of fundraising; Alexis Kraemer, vice president of social media and membership; and Michelle Sanders, vice president of administration. Mary Kultgen, LTC pre-college instructor and PTK co-advisor, ended the program with an inspiring charge to the new inductees.

The new PTK inductees were asked to select an LTC staff or faculty member who was influential in helping them achieve their educational goals and lifelong dreams. The following recipients were honored at the 2018 PTK Spring Induction Ceremony: Kaitlyn Bresser, career coach; Bill Gottsacker, culinary arts instructor; Kelli Grasse, administrative professional/graphic and web design instructor; Doug Hamm, human resources administration instructor; Jennifer Irish, early childhood education instructor; Kathi McNellis, psychology instructor; Patrick Neuenfeldt, accommodation services manager; Richard Opie, paralegal program coordinator/instructor; Mary Rathsack, business management instructor; Bonnie Silbernagel, accounting instructor; and Ericka Sipiorski, radiography instructor.

A recent study of PTK members shows that they have an overall student success rate of 91 percent compared to a national success rate of just 38 percent. Not only are PTK members four times more likely to complete college than an average student, but they are nearly twice as likely to complete college as students with similar grade point averages (3.5 or higher). In addition, leadership development is a hallmark of PTK, which provides value on students’ resumes value.

About Lakeshore Technical College

Each year more than 10,000 people enroll in courses at Lakeshore Technical College. They rely on LTC for job preparation, to earn a degree, upgrade a specialized skill, train as an apprentice, or seek a high school equivalency. LTC faculty and staff meet students where they are in life and help them get one step closer to achieving their goals.<.p>

LTC, a nationally recognized technical college, was recently named a top 10 Bellwether Award finalist. The college was also ranked the #17 trade school in the nation by Forbes, the #3 two-year college in the nation for adult learners by Washington Monthly, #9 in the nation for two-year college educational outcomes by, and a top-150 two-year college for the fourth consecutive time by the Aspen Institute.

Close to 1,000 students graduate from LTC each year, and LTC’s associate degree graduates earn a median salary of $46,800 per year. In addition to the Cleveland campus, LTC serves students in Manitowoc and Sheboygan, and offers classes at four additional sites throughout the district. Visit LTC at

WTCS New North