Lakeshore Technical College Announces Awards During Virtual Celebration




Lakeshore Technical College students, staff, and community members were recognized with awards for a variety of accomplishments during a virtual celebration held May 13. 

Highlighting the evening was the announcement of the Educational Leadership Award, one of the college’s most prestigious awards. Normally awarded to one recipient, it was given to the 29 local healthcare sites that allowed LTC students to complete their hands-on clinical requirements for healthcare and public safety programs during the pandemic.  

The event included one new award that was created in memory of Tammy Erdmann, an LTC communications instructor who passed away in February. Erdmann was a key advocate of diversity, equity, and inclusion on and off campus. Tiffany Perez Ferrando, LTC English language learning/adult basic education instructor, was honored as the first recipient of the Tammy L. Erdmann Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Education Award. 

Additional staff and community member awards:
Alumnus of the Year: Starrlene Grossman, Sheboygan County Division of Public Health Officer.
Dealer in Hope – In the Classroom: Sarah Bornemann, LTC Web & Software Design/Developer & Programming Instructor.
Dealer in Hope – Behind the Scenes: Marlyn Meinnert, LTC Media Support Technician.
Educational Partnership: Dr. Brad Ebert, Kiel Area School District Superintendent.
Educational Leadership: Aurora Sheboygan Medical Center Emergency Department, Aurora Urgent Care Plymouth, HSHS St. Nicholas Hospital Emergency Department, Aurora Medical Center Manitowoc County Emergency Department, Holy Family Memorial Emergency Department, Aurora Sheboygan Medical Center Surgical Unit, Sheboygan Surgery Center, Holy Family Memorial Surgical Unit, Sheboygan Fire Department, Orange Cross Ambulance, City of Manitowoc Fire Rescue Department, Kiel Ambulance, Two Rivers Fire Department, Oshkosh Fire Department, Aurora Sheboygan Memorial Medical Center, Felician Village St. Mary's Home, Holy Family Memorial Medical Center, Holy Family Harbor Town Clinic, Manitowoc Health & Rehabilitation Center, Pine Haven Christian Home, Prevea Sheboygan Urgent Care, Prevea Kohler Urgent Care, Prevea Plymouth Urgent Care, Prevea Manitowoc Urgent Care, River's Bend Health and Rehabilitation, Rocky Knoll Health Care Center Sheboygan County, Sunny Ridge Rehabilitation Center, St. Nicholas Hospital, Aurora Medical Center Manitowoc County in Two Rivers.

Students receiving program excellence awards:
Accounting: Maria Paradiso, Manitowoc; Christopher Schultz, Two Rivers; Hannah Schmitz, Manitowoc; Gabrielle Schmitz, Manitowoc.
Agribusiness Science & Technology: Hannah Schmitz, Manitowoc.
Agriculture Technician: Leah Schilke, Denmark.
Auto Collision Repair & Refinish Technician: David Cesar, Sheboygan; Alexander Lemberger, Whitelaw.
Automotive Maintenance Technician: Dakota Machtig, Sheboygan Falls; Justin Swigert, Sheboygan.
Business Management: Anela Kolii, Sheboygan.
Court Reporting: Greta Pedersen, Manitowoc; Melissa Ciszewski, Green Bay.
Criminal Justice-Law Enforcement 2: Michael Endries, Kiel; Brenda Garcia, Sheboygan.
Dairy Herd Management: Lily Charapata, Peshtigo.
Dental Assistant: Kyanna Brooks, Sheboygan.
Early Childhood Education: Maisie Ten Dolle, Oostburg; Heather Baeckmann, Newton; Lydia Teunissen, Sheboygan.
Graphic and Web Design: Cassandre Zimmerman, Manitowoc; Reece Colberg, Sheboygan Falls.
Health Information Management: Kalita Fore, Sheboygan; Jennifer Johnson, New Holstein.
Hospitality Management: April Serwe, Kewaskum; Nickolas Meverden, Manitowoc.
Human Resource Administration: Theresa Wilson, Green Bay; Debra Cerkas, Manitowoc.
Human Resources Assistant: Allison Grub, Sheboygan.
IT-Computer Support Specialist: Thomas Spatt, Plymouth.
IT Web and Software Developer: Lirie Bajrami, Sheboygan.
Machine Tool Operation: Ryan Wendt, Manitowoc; Taylor Uttech, Kewaskum.
Manufacturing Management: Garrid Neitzel, Watertown; Jeff Tuschel, Valders; Sergio Alvarez, Sheboygan.
Marketing: Kareen Kersten, Sheboygan Falls; Amy Zwick, Plymouth.
Mechanical Design and Engineering Technology: Nancy McBain, Sheboygan.
Medical Assistant: Karen Grimm , Sheboygan.
Medical Coding Specialist: Cassandra Clark, Sheboygan; Dakota Waalkens, Manitowoc.
Practical Nursing: Kimberly Konen, New Holstein; Rebecca Welsch, Sheboygan.
Quality Assurance Technician: Trista Dowty, Cascade.
Quality Process Improvement: Jason Whitaker, Sheboygan.
Supply Chain Management: Ashley Duellman, Manitowoc; Arthur Kue, Manitowoc; Zach Schaaf, Manitowoc.

Students receiving leadership and service awards:
Automotive Maintenance Club: Alex Hesselink, Sheboygan.
Business Professionals of America: Rachel Robley, Manitowoc.
Dental Assistant Club: Sydney Barrington, Sheboygan.
Horticulture Club: David Carini, Sheboygan; Samantha Keil, Sheboygan.
InterVarsity Christian Fellowship: Paul Kettler, Sheboygan Falls.
Lakeshore Chapter Student Nurses Association: Kimberlee Portschy, Sheboygan.
LTC Student Leadership Board President: Matthew Nitsch, Sheboygan.
LTC Student Leadership Board Vice President: Jordyn Wright, Kewaskum.
Medical Assistant Club: Rachael Schneider, Waldo.
Phi Theta Kappa Beta Lambda Sigma: Michelle Jarvey, Sheboygan; Alyssa Wenske, Random Lake.
Professional Agricultural Students: Lily Charapata, Peshtigo; Colin DeYoung, Allenton.
Trevor J. Casper Service Excellence: Wesley Owen, Manitowoc; Jacob Van Alstine, Sheboygan; Karen Field, Cleveland; Justina Keenan, Plymouth; Paul Kettler, Sheboygan Falls.
Wisconsin Technical College System Ambassador: Leandra Quek, Sheboygan.

LTC Bridge

About Lakeshore Technical College

Each year more than 10,000 people enroll in courses at Lakeshore Technical College. They rely on LTC for job preparation, to earn a degree, upgrade a specialized skill, train as an apprentice, or seek a high school equivalency. LTC faculty and staff meet students where they are in life and help them get one step closer to achieving their goals.

LTC is a nationally recognized technical college. The college was ranked the #2 two-year college in the nation for adult learners by Washington Monthly, #20 in the nation for two-year college educational outcomes by, a top-150 two-year college for the fifth consecutive time by the Aspen Institute, and a top 10 Bellwether Award finalist for two consecutive years.

Approximately 800 students graduate from LTC each year, and LTC’s associate degree graduates earn a median salary of $52,000 per year. In addition to the Cleveland campus, LTC serves students in Manitowoc and Sheboygan, and offers classes at additional sites throughout the district. Visit LTC at